The Board and the Advisory Committee

The Executive Board of the Pro Academia Prize consists of the Pre­si­dent and the members of the Coun­cil of The Round Table Foundation. The Board may call in additional expert consultants. The Advisory Committee consists of some of the previous Prize winners.

The Executive Board

Peter A. Rinck Peter A. Rinck, Chairman

Classical school edu­ca­tion, me­di­cal school and re­si­den­cy in Ber­lin. Doc­to­rate in Me­di­cal His­tory (Me­di­cal Cli­ma­to­logy). Senior Re­search As­so­ci­ate, State Uni­ver­si­ty of New York at Stony Brook (laboratory of Paul C. Lau­ter­bur, Nobel Prize in Phy­sio­logy or Me­di­cine 2003). Ad­junct Pro­fes­sor at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Mons, Bel­gium; Pro­fes­sor of Medi­cal Imag­ing at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Trond­heim, Nor­way. Pre­si­dent, board mem­ber, scien­ti­fic con­sul­tant or ad­vi­ser to in­ter­na­tio­nal or­ga­ni­za­tions and found­ations (among them World Health Or­ga­ni­za­tion, Euro­pean Com­mis­sion, UN In­dus­tri­al De­ve­lop­ment Or­ga­ni­za­tion, the Nobel Committee). At pre­sent, Pre­si­dent of the Coun­cil of The Round Table Foun­d­ation (TRTF).

Hans G. Ringertz Hans G. Ringertz

Resear­cher in bio­physics from 1958. MD 1964. PhD Bio­physics 1969. Pro­fes­sor and Chair­man of Ra­dio­logy, Ka­ro­lins­ka Insti­tute, Stock­holm, 1984-2006. Per­ma­nent mem­ber of the No­bel As­semb­ly for Phy­sio­logy or Me­di­cine 1986-2006; President-Elect and Pre­si­dent of the No­bel As­semb­ly 2002-2003. Chair­man of the Board, Cen­ter for Me­di­cal Imag­ing Science and Vi­sua­li­za­tion, Lin­köp­ing Uni­ver­sity. Con­sult­ing Pro­fes­sor at Stra­te­gic Cen­ter for Bio­me­di­cal Imag­ing, Stan­ford Uni­ver­si­ty. Numerous awards, grants, and ho­no­ra­ry mem­ber­ships. Member of the Coun­cil of TRTF.

Robert N. Muller Robert N. Muller

Pro­fes­sor of Che­m­is­try (Emer­itus) and Ho­no­ra­ry Dean of the Facul­ty of Me­di­ci­ne, University of Mons, Belgium. Former post­doc­to­ral fellow of Paul C. Lau­ter­bur, State University of New York at Stony Brook (Nobel Prize in Phy­sio­logy or Me­di­cine 2003). Author of around 200 pub­li­ca­tions in the field of chem­is­try and con­trast agents for me­di­cal imag­ing. Cur­rent­ly Di­rec­tor of In­ter­na­tio­nal Par­tner­ships, Cen­ter for Micro­scopy and Mo­le­cu­lar Imag­ing, Charle­roi, Bel­gium. Member of the Coun­cil of TRTF.

Patricia de Francisco Patricia de Francisco

Degree in Psychology from the Uni­ver­si­dad de los An­des in Bo­go­tá, Co­lom­bia. M.Sc. in Psycho­logy and post-gra­duate studies in So­cio­logy at the State University of New York at Stony Brook, U.S.A. Lec­tu­rer at the Uni­ver­si­ty of Mary­land in Europe, and Re­sear­cher for the Norwegian Foundation for Industrial and Technical Research (SINTEF), Trond­heim, Nor­way. Scien­ti­fic edi­tor for TRTF and major pub­lish­ing houses. Pat­ron of the "Hu­ma­ni­tar­ian Aid" Chap­ter and Mem­ber of the Coun­cil of TRTF.

The Advisory Committee

Luis Martí-Bonmatí Luis Martí-Bonmatí

Director of the Me­di­cal Imag­ing De­part­ment and of the Research Group on Bio­me­di­cal Imag­ing, Hos­pi­tal Uni­ver­si­ta­rio y Poli­téc­ni­co La Fe; Chair­man, Ra­dio­logy De­part­ment, Hos­pi­tal Qui­rón; Va­len­cia, Spain. Board mem­ber and pre­si­dent of se­ve­ral learn­ed so­ciet­ies; nu­me­rous awards, grants, and ho­no­ra­ry mem­ber­ships. Editor-in-Chief and As­so­ciate Edi­tor of four scien­ti­fic jour­nals. Fellow of the Spa­nish Royal Aca­de­my of Me­di­ci­ne. Re­ci­pient of the Pro Aca­demia Prize in 2013.

Regine C. Schulz Regine C. Schulz

Director, Roemer and Pelizaeus Museum, Hil­des­heim, Ger­ma­ny; Assoc. Pro­fes­sor of Egyp­to­logy, Lud­wig Maxi­mi­lians Uni­ver­si­ty, Munich. Worked at Ger­man Ar­chaeo­logi­cal Ins­ti­tu­te, Cai­ro; Sta­te Mu­seum of Egyp­tian Art, Mu­nich. Ad­junct Pro­fes­sor, De­part­ment of Near East­ern Stu­dies, Johns Hopkins Uni­ver­sity; Cu­ra­tor and Chief Cu­ra­tor, The Wal­ters Art Mu­seum, Bal­ti­more, U.S.A. Ad­vi­sor to se­ve­ral go­vern­ments and insti­tu­tions. Chair­person of the Ad­vi­so­ry Coun­cil of the Inter­na­tio­nal Coun­cil of Museums (ICOM), Paris. Re­ci­pient of the Pro Aca­demia Prize in 2015.

Eduardo Posada Flórez Eduardo Posada Flórez

President of the Colo­mbian As­so­cia­tion for the Ad­vance­ment of Science (ACAC), Bogotá; Pro­fes­sor Emer­itus of Physics at the Na­tio­nal Uni­ver­sity of Colombia; mem­ber of the Co­lom­bian Aca­demy of Scien­ces; for­mer pre­si­­dent of the Co­lom­bian Soci­ety of Phy­sics; for­mer Direc­tor of the Tech­nical Physics group of the Na­tio­nal Fe­de­ration of Coffee Grow­ers; mem­ber of the Coun­cil of the Inter­natio­nal Center for Theo­reti­cal Physics (ICTP) (1984), member of the Board of Di­rec­tors of the Banco de la Re­pu­bli­ca Found­ation. Re­ci­pient of the Pro Aca­demia Prize in 2017.

Klaus Roth Klaus Roth

From 1964 until 1969 Dr. Roth studied chemi­stry at the Free Uni­ver­sity of Berlin and re­ceiv­ed his docto­rate in chem­istry 1973. After some more years in Berlin he became a post­docto­ral fellow at the Insti­tute for Medi­cal Re­search, Mill Hill, Lon­don (1979-1980), re­turn­ed to Berlin and then worked as a Visit­ing Pro­fes­sor at the Uni­versi­ty of Cali­fornia, San Fran­cisco. He became Asso­ciate Pro­fes­sor at the Free Uni­ver­sity of Berlin in 1990, Full Pro­fes­sor at the Insti­tute of Chemi­stry of the Free Uni­ver­sity of Ber­lin in 2000. From 1991 until 2000 he was the Direc­tor of the inter­disci­pli­nary Dahlem Con­fe­ren­ces in Berlin. Re­ci­pient of the Pro Aca­demia Prize in 2021.

For space reasons, all cur­ri­cula were sub­stan­tially con­densed.

Members of the Board and the Com­mit­tee do not receive any com­pen­sa­tion.
The Prize is not spon­sor­ed by any com­mer­cial or po­li­ti­cal inter­ests.